5 Oct 2004
10 from 10 
A limited edition compilation album to be released on both CD and 12" vinyl. The tracks are all covers of Manchester songs by Manchester bands. It was recorded "on stolen studio time at Spirit studio in the heart and soul of Manchester". It is currently available on pre-release from Fopp in Manchester only. There is a launch party on Wednesday 13 October at Mint followed by the official release on 1 November.


01 Regret (New Order) Earl
02 On Time (The Bee Gees) Folks
03 Panic (The Smiths) Tricky Nixon
04 The Air That I Breathe (The Hollies) Ammo
05 Country Song (Happy Mondays) Sam Hammond
06 The More You Ignore Me, The Closer I Get (Morrissey) The Pioneers
07 The Light Pours Out Of Me (Magazine) The Obsession
08 Money's Too Tight To Mention (Simply Red) Blood Red Bird
09 I'm Not In Love (10cc) Escape Pod
10 Love Will Tear Us Apart (Joy Division) Hanky Park featuring Peter Hook

Hanky Park are (or were) a Salford band who have been a support act for New Order.

Title: 10 from 10
Release date: 1 November 2004
Label: Concrete Recordings
Catalogue number: CONC003 CD

Labels: , , ,


Post a Comment

<< Home

- - - -

Peter Saville colour wheel
Biting Tongues

In the grey days of late 1970s post-punk Manchester, youth culture was a serious affair: every musical performance was measured mostly by the conviction of its delivery. The term 'New Wave' opened up free vistas where acquired skills could once again be exercised after punk's monochrome blur. It could be applied to anything from a James 'Blood' Ulmer record to the latest Throbbing Gristle release, Magazine to Swell Maps. Move outside that terrain into Sun Ra, Parliament, Frank Sinatra and Martin Denny, and your options were suddenly without limit...

Then came Tony Wilson's Factory Club (at the Russell Club in Hulme) offering an open invitation to experiment that was taken up when Ken Hollings, Howard Walmsley, Eddie Sherwood and a few others decided to make some noise to accompany their 16mm silent epic Biting Tongues. A further performance followed a few weeks later, when Colin Seddon and Graham Massey disbanded their Post Natals project and joined up. The film itself, a flashing series of negative images, became a memory; the name remained.

- extract from the LTM Biting Tongues biography

Factory Records

The Durutti Column