6 Feb 2006
This train is for Radiohead. Please alight here for New Order. The next stop is Kraftwerk. 
Last Friday's Film and Music section of The Guardian included a reworking of Harry Beck's classic London Underground "diagram" by Dorian Lynskey. The piece obviously owes a great deal of debt to The Great Bear by Simon Patterson in 1992 but, unlike that work, the interchanges actually work in terms of the music. The brown of the Bakerloo line becomes the Soul Line, the Circle Line becomes Pop and the Waterloo and City becomes the DJ Shadow and RZA (linking as it does DJ Shadow and, erm, The RZA). Factory's sole representative is New Order (on both the Rock and Electronica and Dance lines) who are arranged between Depeche Mode and Kraftwerk.

The map, produced in association with the Mayor of London and Transport for London is available to buy from the London Transport Museum shop. You can also download the map for free as a pdf.



Post a Comment

<< Home

- - - -

Peter Saville colour wheel
Biting Tongues

In the grey days of late 1970s post-punk Manchester, youth culture was a serious affair: every musical performance was measured mostly by the conviction of its delivery. The term 'New Wave' opened up free vistas where acquired skills could once again be exercised after punk's monochrome blur. It could be applied to anything from a James 'Blood' Ulmer record to the latest Throbbing Gristle release, Magazine to Swell Maps. Move outside that terrain into Sun Ra, Parliament, Frank Sinatra and Martin Denny, and your options were suddenly without limit...

Then came Tony Wilson's Factory Club (at the Russell Club in Hulme) offering an open invitation to experiment that was taken up when Ken Hollings, Howard Walmsley, Eddie Sherwood and a few others decided to make some noise to accompany their 16mm silent epic Biting Tongues. A further performance followed a few weeks later, when Colin Seddon and Graham Massey disbanded their Post Natals project and joined up. The film itself, a flashing series of negative images, became a memory; the name remained.

- extract from the LTM Biting Tongues biography

Factory Records

The Durutti Column