23 Jun 2009
Factory Records: Communications 1978-92 is now available to buy in the USA. The 4CD set features Joy Division, New Order, Cabaret Voltaire, and Happy Mondays. It also includes a 38-page booklet containing rare photos, and in-depth liner notes.

Sample tracks via the special Listening Party available in Quicktime, WMA (1), WMA (2) and Real formats.

Listening Party Tracklist

1. Joy Division - Digital
2. Joy Division - She's Lost Control
3. New Order - Ceremony (original version)
4. New Order - Temptation
5. Happy Mondays - Step On
6. Happy Mondays - Sunshine And Love (Lionrock Remix)

Factory Records: Communications 1978-92 is available to buy now on Rhino via iTunes (US).

Labels: , , , ,


Post a Comment

<< Home

- - - -

Peter Saville colour wheel
Biting Tongues

In the grey days of late 1970s post-punk Manchester, youth culture was a serious affair: every musical performance was measured mostly by the conviction of its delivery. The term 'New Wave' opened up free vistas where acquired skills could once again be exercised after punk's monochrome blur. It could be applied to anything from a James 'Blood' Ulmer record to the latest Throbbing Gristle release, Magazine to Swell Maps. Move outside that terrain into Sun Ra, Parliament, Frank Sinatra and Martin Denny, and your options were suddenly without limit...

Then came Tony Wilson's Factory Club (at the Russell Club in Hulme) offering an open invitation to experiment that was taken up when Ken Hollings, Howard Walmsley, Eddie Sherwood and a few others decided to make some noise to accompany their 16mm silent epic Biting Tongues. A further performance followed a few weeks later, when Colin Seddon and Graham Massey disbanded their Post Natals project and joined up. The film itself, a flashing series of negative images, became a memory; the name remained.

- extract from the LTM Biting Tongues biography

Factory Records

The Durutti Column