9 Feb 2010
Ceremony - A New Order tribute 
Ceremony, a double album of New Order covers, will be released on 20 February 2010 to celebrate what would have been Tony Wilson's 60th Birthday.

A portion of the proceeds from album sales will benefit the Salford Foundation Trust's Tony Wilson Awards, established in his memory. The trust benefits children and young people who can demonstrate a special talent or ambition in the arts or creative skills. Since Ceremony will benefit talented young people, a special version of Ceremony on the album is performed by children to show an example of those who have the opportunity of music in their life.

The deluxe 2CD album has 32 tracks from artists across the musical spectrum and from around the USA and Europe, all of whom have been influenced by New Order including Detachments, Rabbit In The Moon, John Ralston, Sunbears!, The Cloud Room, GD Luxxe, The Dark Romantics, Pocket, Light Yourself On Fire, XOXO, Kites With Lights and many more! Peter Hook also contributes a lead-off dedication to AHW.

The package is rounded off with photos of New Order by Kevin Cummins and a rare image of Tony Wilson taken just before he announced his illness, taken by Katja Ruge.

For more info and to purchase the 2CD edition go to NewOrderTribute.com.


Disc One

1. Strangely Enough Impact - Peter Hook (A Dedication to Tony Wilson)
2. Ceremony - Yes But No
3. Dream Attack - Kites With Lights
4. Blue Monday - Rabbit In The Moon
5. Crystal - The Dark Romantics
6. Sub-culture - Pocket feat. Shaun Robinson & Tracy Shedd
7. World - Solo Gigolos UK
8. Turn - Lone Wolf feat. Geri X
9. Mr Disco - Detachments
10. Paradise - The Beauvilles
11. Run - Christian Webb & Adam Knowles
12. Thieves Like Us - Sunbears!
13. 60 Miles An Hour - GD Luxxe
14. Love Vigilantes - Jimmy Oakes
15. All Day Long - John Ralston
16. Temptation - The Dark Esquire
17. The Him - Johnny Parry

Disc Two

1. As It Is When It Was - The Bedford Incident
2. Round & Round - Sibling
3. The Perfect Kiss - Detachments
4. Your Silent Face - Flight
5. This Time Of Night - Kingsbury
6. Blue Monday - The Cloud Room
7. Ceremony - The Sheaks
8. Sunrise - History
9. Chosen Time - Light Yourself On Fire
10. Leave Me Alone - Allegra Gellar
11. Every Little Counts - XOXO
12. Bizarre Love Triangle - Jimmy Oakes
13. Regret - Win Win Winter
14. 1963 - The Milling Gowns
15. Ceremony (Kites With Lights Remix) - Yes But No

Two additional collections of songs will be available as digital download albums released in support of this package: Ceremony - The Digital Album - 16 additional covers which do not appear on the CD set, and Twelve Versions of Ceremony - comprised entirely of versions of New Order's first single Ceremony.

The digital download version of this release and the two additional collections will be available at iTunes, Emusic, Amazon, Rhapsody & all other digital outlets to commemorate Tony Wilson's Birthday.

The CD version will be available from MVD Distribution and other good music retailers from 9 March 2010.

Labels: , , , ,


Post a Comment

<< Home

- - - -

Peter Saville colour wheel
Biting Tongues

In the grey days of late 1970s post-punk Manchester, youth culture was a serious affair: every musical performance was measured mostly by the conviction of its delivery. The term 'New Wave' opened up free vistas where acquired skills could once again be exercised after punk's monochrome blur. It could be applied to anything from a James 'Blood' Ulmer record to the latest Throbbing Gristle release, Magazine to Swell Maps. Move outside that terrain into Sun Ra, Parliament, Frank Sinatra and Martin Denny, and your options were suddenly without limit...

Then came Tony Wilson's Factory Club (at the Russell Club in Hulme) offering an open invitation to experiment that was taken up when Ken Hollings, Howard Walmsley, Eddie Sherwood and a few others decided to make some noise to accompany their 16mm silent epic Biting Tongues. A further performance followed a few weeks later, when Colin Seddon and Graham Massey disbanded their Post Natals project and joined up. The film itself, a flashing series of negative images, became a memory; the name remained.

- extract from the LTM Biting Tongues biography

Factory Records

The Durutti Column