29 Apr 2013
Scared To Get Happy 
Scared To Get Happy

(Ex-)Factory artists feature on final tracklisting of Cherry Red's 5CD set Scared To Get Happy: A Story of Indie-Pop 1980-1989 as announced by Slicing Up Eyeballs.

The compilation will take an extensive look back at the golden era of British guitar-based indie-pop and features a veritable who's who of artists including Josef K, The Stone Roses, Primal Scream and The Wedding Present.

The Factory element (3 out of 134 tracks) is provided by James, The Railway Children and The Wake as follows:

James - Hymn From A Village (1985)
The Railway Children - A Gentle Sound (1986)
The Wake - Gruesome Castle (1988)

The collection is due out 24 June 2013, includes a 72-page booklet and is expected to cost about 50 GBP.

Labels: , , , , ,


Post a Comment

<< Home

- - - -

Peter Saville colour wheel
Biting Tongues

In the grey days of late 1970s post-punk Manchester, youth culture was a serious affair: every musical performance was measured mostly by the conviction of its delivery. The term 'New Wave' opened up free vistas where acquired skills could once again be exercised after punk's monochrome blur. It could be applied to anything from a James 'Blood' Ulmer record to the latest Throbbing Gristle release, Magazine to Swell Maps. Move outside that terrain into Sun Ra, Parliament, Frank Sinatra and Martin Denny, and your options were suddenly without limit...

Then came Tony Wilson's Factory Club (at the Russell Club in Hulme) offering an open invitation to experiment that was taken up when Ken Hollings, Howard Walmsley, Eddie Sherwood and a few others decided to make some noise to accompany their 16mm silent epic Biting Tongues. A further performance followed a few weeks later, when Colin Seddon and Graham Massey disbanded their Post Natals project and joined up. The film itself, a flashing series of negative images, became a memory; the name remained.

- extract from the LTM Biting Tongues biography

Factory Records

The Durutti Column