8 Apr 2014
Northside - Shall We Take A Trip? 
Shall We Take A Trip

Northside has announced a new version of classic Factory Records album Chicken Rhythms [FACT 310] via Cherry Red for release as a 2CD set on 19 May 2014. The complete original 11-track album is presented on disc one with all the singles and b-sides from the Factory era on the second disc including My Rising Star and Take 5 plus the Mark Radcliffe radio session.

The album hits on the streets on the back of the Spring 2014 Reunion Tour which starts in London this Saturday at Brixton Jamm.


Disc One: Chicken Rhythms

1. Take 5
2. Weight Of Air
3. Funky Munky
4. A Change Is On Its Way
5. Yeah Man
6. Tour De World
7. Wishful Thinking
8. Shall We Take A Trip?
9. Who's To Blame
10. Practise Makes Perfect
11. My Rising Star

Disc Two: The Singles

1. Shall We Take A Trip? (12")
2. Moody Places (12")
3. My Rising Star (12")
4. Take 5 (7")
5. Tour De World (Edit)
6. Moody Places (7")
7. My Rising Star*
8. Weight Of Air*
9. Moody Places*
10. A Change Is On Its Way*
11. My Rising Star (7" Instrumental)
12. Who's To Blame (Instrumental)
13. Moody Places (Instrumental)
14. My Rising Star (12" Instrumental)

* Radio 5 Mark Radcliffe Session

Labels: , ,


Post a Comment

<< Home

- - - -

Peter Saville colour wheel
Biting Tongues

In the grey days of late 1970s post-punk Manchester, youth culture was a serious affair: every musical performance was measured mostly by the conviction of its delivery. The term 'New Wave' opened up free vistas where acquired skills could once again be exercised after punk's monochrome blur. It could be applied to anything from a James 'Blood' Ulmer record to the latest Throbbing Gristle release, Magazine to Swell Maps. Move outside that terrain into Sun Ra, Parliament, Frank Sinatra and Martin Denny, and your options were suddenly without limit...

Then came Tony Wilson's Factory Club (at the Russell Club in Hulme) offering an open invitation to experiment that was taken up when Ken Hollings, Howard Walmsley, Eddie Sherwood and a few others decided to make some noise to accompany their 16mm silent epic Biting Tongues. A further performance followed a few weeks later, when Colin Seddon and Graham Massey disbanded their Post Natals project and joined up. The film itself, a flashing series of negative images, became a memory; the name remained.

- extract from the LTM Biting Tongues biography

Factory Records

The Durutti Column