13 Apr 2006
Rip It Up: The Album - final tracklisting 
simonreynolds.net reports that the Rip It Up and Start Again compilation, inspired by Simon Reynolds's book of the same name, will be released on 15 May 2006 on V2.

The final, Crépuscule-tinged, tracklistlisting includes The Fall 'Fiery Jack', Cabaret Voltaire 'Sluggin' For Jesus Part 1', Josef K 'Sense of Guilt', The Raincoats 'Only Loved At Night', The Human League 'Dancevision', The Associates 'White Car In Germany', John Cooper Clarke 'Beasley Street' and The Blue Orchids 'Dumb Magician'.

Thanks to AJ.



Post a Comment

<< Home

- - - -

Peter Saville colour wheel
A Certain Ratio

"Manchester, 1978. In the beginning there were four: Jez Kerr (bass), Martin Moscrop (guitar/trumpet), Peter Terrel (guitar/effects) and Simon Topping (vocals/trumpet). Four thin boys with a name borrowed from a Brian Eno record, the intense, drummerless quartet initially drew influence from Wire, Eno, the Velvets and Kraftwerk, and gained a manager in Anthony Wilson of Factory Records.

"May 1979 saw the release of their first ACR single, the dark All Night Party, although the sound and musicianship of the band would be transformed by the arrival of funky drummer Donald Johnson (DoJo) in August. Over the next few months the band gigged widely, often with Joy Division as part of Factory packages, and recorded demos with producer Martin Hannett as well as a Peel session. Their support slot with Talking Heads on their UK tour in December 1979 set David Byrne on a new course, and provided the compelling live half of their chic cassette package The Graveyard and the Ballroom. Post-punk, ACR now reflected the influence of Funkadelic, George Clinton, Bootsy Collins, The Bar Kays and James Brown."

- intro to ACR Biography by James Nice (LTM)

The Durutti Column