8 Dec 2013
The Delaplains - The Other You EP [VR 004] 
The Delaplains - The Other You EP [VR 004]

Up-and-coming Manchester indie pop band The Delaplains have their second release, The Other You EP out now via the burgeoning Vinyl Revival label. The three tracks are The Other You, Bones & Sheena's Always Late are replete with jangly guitars, cutting melodies and the self-assurance of a band on the rise.

The Other You EP is released on limited edition 7" vinyl via Vinyl Revival, 5 Hilton Street, Manchester M4 1LP. The Factory connection (other than the Vinyl Revival one) is that sleeve artwork is by Trevor Johnson. Email vinylrevival@btinternet.com for more info and ordering details.


Artist: The Delaplains
Title: The Other You Ep
Format: Limited Edition 7" Vinyl
Label: Vinyl Revival
Catalogue Number: VR004

Labels: , ,


Post a Comment

<< Home

- - - -

Peter Saville colour wheel
A Certain Ratio

"Manchester, 1978. In the beginning there were four: Jez Kerr (bass), Martin Moscrop (guitar/trumpet), Peter Terrel (guitar/effects) and Simon Topping (vocals/trumpet). Four thin boys with a name borrowed from a Brian Eno record, the intense, drummerless quartet initially drew influence from Wire, Eno, the Velvets and Kraftwerk, and gained a manager in Anthony Wilson of Factory Records.

"May 1979 saw the release of their first ACR single, the dark All Night Party, although the sound and musicianship of the band would be transformed by the arrival of funky drummer Donald Johnson (DoJo) in August. Over the next few months the band gigged widely, often with Joy Division as part of Factory packages, and recorded demos with producer Martin Hannett as well as a Peel session. Their support slot with Talking Heads on their UK tour in December 1979 set David Byrne on a new course, and provided the compelling live half of their chic cassette package The Graveyard and the Ballroom. Post-punk, ACR now reflected the influence of Funkadelic, George Clinton, Bootsy Collins, The Bar Kays and James Brown."

- intro to ACR Biography by James Nice (LTM)

The Durutti Column