21 Sep 2004
The Guitar 
More DC news (as Cerysmatic catches up after a 5-day road trip) with the tracklisting from the 2-CD 'The Best of The Durutti Column'. The album was planned to go on sale at that gig but in true Factory style a last minute glitch meant that this was not possible. Amazon.co.uk is selling it for a very respectable £10.99 and their site shows the artwork which is similar to the recent flyer for the Bridgewater Hall gig, featuring as it does, Rachel McFarlane's photo of the bare-torsoed Vini Reilly. Here are the tracks that made it to the final listing:

Disc one

1. Sketch For Summer
2. Conduct
3. Sketch For Winter
4. Lips That Would Kiss
5. For Belgian Friends
6. Danny
7. Never Known
8. Jacqueline
9. The Missing Boy
10. Prayer
11. Spent Time
12. Without Mercy 1
13. Without Mercy 2
14. The Room
15. Tomorrow
16. LFO Mod

Disc two

1. What Is It To Me (Woman)
2. Otis
3. Requiem Again
4. Home
5. Contra Indications
6. People's Pleasure Park
7. My Irascible Friend
8. Fado
9. Sing To Me
10. Pigeon
11. Mello (Part 1)
12. Falling
13. Woman
14. Requiem For Mother

Title: The Best of The Durutti Column
Label: Warner
Catalogue number: 5046753932
Release date: 11 October 2004

Thanks to Phil Jones and Gavin.



Post a Comment

<< Home

- - - -

Peter Saville colour wheel
Biting Tongues

In the grey days of late 1970s post-punk Manchester, youth culture was a serious affair: every musical performance was measured mostly by the conviction of its delivery. The term 'New Wave' opened up free vistas where acquired skills could once again be exercised after punk's monochrome blur. It could be applied to anything from a James 'Blood' Ulmer record to the latest Throbbing Gristle release, Magazine to Swell Maps. Move outside that terrain into Sun Ra, Parliament, Frank Sinatra and Martin Denny, and your options were suddenly without limit...

Then came Tony Wilson's Factory Club (at the Russell Club in Hulme) offering an open invitation to experiment that was taken up when Ken Hollings, Howard Walmsley, Eddie Sherwood and a few others decided to make some noise to accompany their 16mm silent epic Biting Tongues. A further performance followed a few weeks later, when Colin Seddon and Graham Massey disbanded their Post Natals project and joined up. The film itself, a flashing series of negative images, became a memory; the name remained.

- extract from the LTM Biting Tongues biography

Factory Records

The Durutti Column